Future Exhibitions

NMU Faculty Biennial



NMU Faculty Biennial Exhibition

The Faculty Biennial Exhibition is a celebration of the creativity found within the current faculty of the NMU School of Art & Design. Highlighting creative achievements in all medias and concentrations, this exhibition gives the NMU and broader community the opportunity to see the talent within the School firsthand. The exhibition runs January 16 - February 19, 2017.

Featuring Daric Christian, Taimur Cleary, Steven Hughes, Brian Kakas, Emily Lanctot, Stephan Larson, Christine Lenzen, Michael Letts, Gabrielle McNally, Jane Milkie, Christopher Moore, Peter Pless, Julie Clark-Risak, Ted Ross, Dennis Staffne, Tracy Wascom, Dale Wedig and Tom Wolfe.

Upper Peninsula Focus:
Mike Friend and Scott Leipski

Monday, February 27 - Sunday, April 9, 2017


Upper Peninsula Focus: Mike Friend and Scott Leipski

Reception for UP Focus: Thursday, April 6, 6-8pm

Michael Friend graduated from Northern Michigan University, where he earned a Masters of Art in Art Education. Friend taught art and filmmaking in Michigan public schools for thirty-five years. He now lives in Marquette where he maintains a vigorous painting practice. Combining the formal ideas of pointillism and expressionism with the process of animation, Friend describes his painting method as “dotmation”. Several layers of small ovals are meticulously painted by hand, creating patterns of dynamic color and movement.

Scott Leipski worked for nearly thirty years in retail sales management before leaving to pursue art full-time. During this time he moved to Gladstone, where he set up a studio overlooking Lake Michigan. As a self-taught artist, Leipski’s assemblages embrace experimentation and play. Utilizing a combination of vintage press molds and hand built forms as well as a variety of glazing techniques, the work invokes a hesitant sense of nostalgia, often alluding to childhood memories.

Since 2008, the Upper Peninsula Focus exhibition series has celebrated artists with connections to the Upper Peninsula of Michigan. The exhibition has featured seventeen artists working in all medias exploring the stories and influences unique to this particular region.

Scott Leipski, Radiance, 2016, Earthenware

Winter 2017 School of Art & Design Senior Exhibition

Wednesday, April 19th - Friday, May 5th


Winter 2017 Senior Exhibition

Closing reception: Friday, May 5, 7-9pm

Graduating seniors present their work from all areas of the School of Art and Design including ceramics, computer art, drawing / painting, electronic imaging, furniture design, graphic communication, human centered design, illustration, jewelry / metals / blacksmithing, photography, printmaking, sculpture, and woodworking.

2017 Annual Children’s Art Exhibition

Monday, May 8th - Sunday, May 28th


2017 Annual Children’s Art Exhibition

Reception: Thursday, May 12, 6-8:30pm

Each year the DeVos Art Museum celebrates our area schools that support art programs for students. This annual exhibition, featuring talented K-12 students creating artwork in all medias, is organized by the hardworking art teachers from local schools.